It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
One of most important Japanese language dictionaries, it contains about 500,000 entries with 1,000,000 sample sentences listed by gojūon. Also found in the JapanKnowledge database. (Just click ログイン button at upper left corner of JapanKnowledge.)
Based on the printed version, this online database provides historical information about the history, lifestyle and culture of approximately 200,000 famous places, including those mentioned in early texts such as Fudoki, Man'yoshu, Kojiki and Nihon Shoki; places famous in modern history; and significant topographical information.
The information is related to the natural history of the nation. The online version allows for the full-text search and quick cross-referencing of locations whose names have changed over time. An interactive map interface allows users to view certain historical maps from the Meiji Fukkatsu Chizu collection (1884-1887), with a larger selection of historical maps available in PDF format. This database is included in the JapanKnowledge database. Patrons must begin their search of Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei, by accessing JapanKnowledge first.
By the Historiographical Institute at the University of Tokyo (Click database list and located under 'Tools'). It allows you to search for terms in English, French, German and Japanese (romaji, hiragana, and/or kanji). The database returns works (in all these languages) that contain the relevant term, and also serves as a useful tool for translation. To search using a non-Japanese term, enter the term (or terms) and click the 全文検索 button; to search using a romanized term, click the 語
A detailed and precise encyclopedia that covers approx. 540 clans (藩) and their schools (藩校) that sustained the early Modern period of Japan. Comments on basic keywords, illustrated guides as well as the comprehensive list of references are also included.
This dictionary enables the user to trace standard style 楷書体 of the くずし字characters. The dictionary by strokes. The appendix also includes lists and analysis of カタカナ, ひらがな and 変体がな, as well as a variety of example usages of くずし字.