A large collection of language dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries, and other Japanese reference works for Japanese-only searches of historical terms and figures. It includes abbreviate version of the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan in English and full-text coverage of the Tōyō Bunko and Shūkan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist).

This edition of Nelson contain numbers which corresponds with Morohashi's character dictionary (大漢和辞典).

Requires VPN through JapanKnowledge (JK), or log in to general JK. Then, select Dai Kan-Wa. It searches all the characters by searching radicals or strokes. It doesn't search for idioms and variants by copy & paste. Guide: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1J5iiH9uiB8ewDuoY8bDDxzHqQaY61bCe/view

"Morohashi" dictionary. The most authoritative character dictionary, which lets you to search idioms.

Detailed information on how to use Morohashi from Japanese Research & Bibliographic Methods for Undergraduates is created by Prof. Susanna Fessler from University at Albany (SUNY Albany) in NY. Morohashi section is #12 of the series. Must download the lesson plan through Google document.

A Chinese character dictionary complied by Shirakawa Shizuka containing 9,500 Chinese characters. Can search by a character’s reading, radical names, total stroke number, old readings, meaning, authoritative sources, compound words, and parts of characters. Also found in the JapanKnowledge database. (Just click ログイン button at upper left corner of JapanKnowledge.)

One of most important Japanese language dictionaries, it contains about 500,000 entries with 1,000,000 sample sentences listed by gojūon. Digital edition through JapanKnowledge database (Just click ログイン button at upper left corner of JapanKnowledge.)

6th edition. Iwanami Shoten, 1998.
Approximately 240,000 entries in the 6th edition. Also contains example sentences organized by gojūon.

A major Japanese thesauri dictionary provides search functions such as classifications, "fuzzy search," and "associative search. In addition, each heading contains examples for actual usage.

Online version available through JapanKnowledge, but no bibliographies from the print version are available.

A convenient English-language reference for preliminary research. Many entries offer short bibliographies for further reading. Proper name entry titles are accompanied by the Japanese vernacular.

Important dictionary set for history of Japan. Available both online (Yale campus subscription) and print version.

A new index to Koji ruien articles arranged by current orthography. This volume claims to have corrected nearly a thousand mistakes in the old version.

角川古語大辞典
Tōkyō : Kadokawa shoten, 1982-1999.

Approximately 80,000 entries containing linguistic, cultural, and historical information through the Edo period.