Skip to Main Content

Yale History Timeline: 1980 - 1989


Jun 30 1985 A. Bartlett Giamatti announced his resignation as president effective June 30, 1986.
Sep 20 1986 Benno C. Schmidt (B.A. 1963 and L.L.B. 1966) inaugurated as twentieth president.
Sep 7 1988 Arson fire leveled anti-apartheid shanties on Beinecke Plaza erected to demand divestment of funds in South Africa by the Yale Corporation.
Sep 28 1988 School of Organization and Management students protested curriculum changes after appointment of Professor Michael Levine as dean.
Nov 9 1988    George Herbert Walker Bush (B.A. 1948) elected as 41st President of the United States.
May 10 1989 Maya Lin (B.A. 1981, M.Arch 1986, D.F.A.H. 1987) commissioned to create a sculpture commemorating two decades of women at Yale.  "Women's Table" sculpture dedicated on October 2, 1993.


Profile Photo
Manuscripts and Archives
Manuscripts and Archives

Yale University Library

P.O. Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203) 432-1735