Drama - Yale HistoryPeopleFormatOther collections
People & InstitutionsFormatArchitectureWinterhouse Collection
Woodcuts and Wood EngravingArtistsGraphic DesignersInstitutions and PressesYale RelatedNon-WesternStudent Printing ExamplesFORMAT Art WorkFORMAT Prints & BroadsidesFORMAT ProcessFORMAT Printed EphemeraMiscellaneous
This is the "Arts Library Special Collections" page of the "Arts Library Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

Arts Library Special Collections   Tags: architecture, art, art_history, arts, book history, bookplates, special collections  

Resources available in the Special Collections of the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library.
Last Updated: Aug 24, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/alsc Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Arts Library Special Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Access Policies in Brief

Monday through Friday

10am to 12pm and 1pm to 4pm.

Reduced hours during recess periods; closed for University holidays.

Each reader must register every academic and summer term and follow all policies and procedures for use of the Special Collections Reading Room. 

All archival collections are stored off site and require at least 2 business days' notice.  Orbis location code is LSF- Contact haasalsc@yale.edu to request item.

Up to 5 items may be requested per visit. Researchers travelling from a distance should inquire in advance if they need special consideration.

 

Welcome

The Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library Special Collections are composed of materials from the former Art+Architecture and Drama Libraries as well as the Arts of the Book Collection. These previously separate special collections were united in the Special Collections Reading Room beginning in 2008. Rare and unique, modern and contemporary, published and manuscript materials are gathered together to create a resource that includes both research materials about and examples of the arts.

Materials from the former Art+Architecture Library range from contemporary catalogues raisonnes to 18th and 19th century works on artists and architecture. Important collections are the Faber Birren Collection of Books on Color, the Volvelle Collection, and the Skowhegan Lecture Archive.

Materials from the former Arts of the Book Collection focus on printing, papermaking, typography, and other arts that serve the book. Of particular note are the Fritz Kredel Archive, the Carl P. Rollins Printing Library and Papers, the Fritz Eichenberg Archive, the Richard Minsky Archive, and a broad selection of fine press and artists' books, as well as other intriguingly printed and bound items.

Materials from the former Drama Library document theatrical production through photographic prints, production books, scrapbooks, and ephemera. Highlights include the Rollo Peters Archive, the Rockefeller Theatrical Prints Collection, the Doolittle Collection of Japanese Theatre Prints, and the George Pierce Baker Collection.

The available collections of each of these subject areas are described in this guide.  Use the tabs above to navigate to the three subject areas.

Asst. Dir. for Special Collections, Arts Library

Profile Image
Jae Jennifer Rossman
Contact Info
Special Collections
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
180 York Street
New Haven, CT 06520
203.432.1712
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip