Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Arts Library Special Collections: Graphic Designers

Resources available in the Special Collections of the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library.

Archival Collections

AOB

9

Carl Purington Rollins papers   

The papers document Rollins's career as a master printer, graphic designer, author, and educator. The collection consists of personal and business correspondence; writings by Rollins and others; materials designed and/or printed by Rollins and others; and research files and notebooks. The materials document Rollins's design and printing work at the New Clairvaux Press, Dyke Mill (Montague Press), and the Yale Press, as well as his home press.

AOB

13

Kenneth D. Love corporate brand identity manual collection

The collection consists of corporate brand identity manuals created by various design firm teams, the majority of which were headed by Kenneth Love. The manuals were prepared for over 60 different corporations, retail establishments, product/service brand lines, and academic institutions including Citibank, Kmart, Gillette, Texaco, and Columbia Business School. Prepared by graphic designers in conjunction with client staff, the manuals include illustrative details and instructions describing the use of an entity's basic identity components including logotype, brand architecture, typography, color use and graphic presentation.

AOB

18

John O. C. McCrillis designs and art work

The Collection consists of examples of graphic designs and art works created by John McCrillis including painting and drawing, relief printing, lettering, and typography. Examples are drawn from his work at the Yale University Press as well as his freelance work and works produced at McCrillis's Penny-Whistle Press.

AOB

19

Bradbury Thompson collection

The Bradbury Thompson Collection consists of examples of Thompson's graphic design work including postage stamps, logos, and book, magazine, and corporate publication designs. The majority of the collection consists of Thompson designs that were a part of the Westavaco-sponsored exhibit, "Bradbury Thompson: Innovative Designer," which was exhibited at Yale's Sterling Memorial Library in 1992. Many of the designs in the exhibition were from the serial publication, Westvaco Inspirations for Printers. The exhibit had previously been mounted at other venues including the Frick Gallery in Pittsburgh, and the ITC Gallery in New York City.

AOB

20

Clarence Pearson Hornung papers               

The papers consist of correspondence, research files, photographs and engravings, original art work, designs, and publication process materials documenting the many facets of Hornung's artistic and writing career. Examples of his own illustrations, lettering, and type, binding, industrial, and trademark design are in the collection, as are those of a number of designers Hornung admired and studied, including Walter Dorwin Teague, T. M. Cleland, and Frederic W. Goudy. While a large group of the material relates to the research and preparation of his Treasury of American Design, many of Hornung's other book projects (both published and unpublished) are represented. Published books by Hornung and others which were donated by Hornung in 1981 are cataloged separately in Orbis, Yale's online catalog.

AOB

29

Samuel N. Antupit papers

The papers include correspondence, design project files, teaching files, and design examples documenting the career of Samuel N. Antupit.

AOB

38

Ken White Collection

The Ken White Collection documents the graphic design career of Ken White from 1964 to 1985 through examples of publications and ephemera he designed for specific clients. White worked for a variety of clients, including IBM, Better Homes and Gardens, and the Phoenix Art Museum.

AOB

39

Ladislav Sutnar Collection

The Ladislav Sutnar Collection documents the post-war graphic design career of Ladislav Sutnar from 1945 to 1975 through examples of publications and ephemera he designed for specific clients. Sutnar worked for a variety of clients, including RCA, Knoll, the AIGA, and the Museum of Modern Art. The collection also includes letterhead and promotional materials he designed for himself.

AOB

43

Sam Kim Collection

Upon Kim's death, the Yale School of Art organized a retrospective exhibition with examples of Kim's work selected by his classmates.

AOB

44

Lance Hidy Collection

Lance Hidy '68 works as a graphic designer. His colorful style is widely recognized in posters and books and even a stamp, "mentoring a child," for the U.S. Postal Service in 2002. Hidy has worked for a long list of clients including the Library of Congress, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Children's Memorial Hospital, Chicago, Adobe, and Eastman Kodak, as well as Yale University. Hidy has also taught Graphic Design at various institutions including Boston University and the Corcoran School of Art.

AOB

45

William Drenttel Collection of Imre Reiner

The collection consists of articles and examples of Reiner's designs and a small amount of correspondence collected by graphic designer William Drenttel.

AOB

103

Arnold Saks Archive

The Arnold Saks Archive is primarily composed of the company archive of Arnold Saks Associates, including completed work for a variety of companies, and also some production materials.

AOB

106

Tom Morin Archive

The collection was created by Tom Morin in the process of writing the book Tom Morin: Threads of Influence, The Visual History of a Life in Graphic Design.

AOB

118

Nathan Garland Archive

 

Associate Director, Arts Library

Profile Photo
Mar Gonzalez Palacios
Contact:
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
190 York Street | P.O. Box 208318
New Haven, CT 06520-8318
(203) 432-4439