Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
At this time, Yale libraries are open to current faculty, staff, and students; IDs are required for entrance. Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Arts Library Special Collections: FORMAT Printed Ephemera

Resources available in the Special Collections of the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library.

Archival Collections

AOB

2

Scrapbook and album collection

Collection of miscellaneous scrapbooks and albums containing a variety of ephemera including trade cards, New Year's Day visiting cards, post cards, crests and monograms, cigarette cards, pressed flowers and plants, and clippings. An unused published wedding album, a cabinet photograph album, and several empty scrapbooks document late 19th-century printing and binding techniques.

AOB

3

American Trade Card Collection

Collection consists of illustrated 19th century trade cards; early 20th century advertising cards; and a small number of collecting cards. The majority of the cards were produced in the United States by shopkeepers and manufacturers to be disseminated to customers. The colorful illustrations, often unrelated to the product advertised, depict scenes of city and rural life; celebrities; animals; flowers; household products; and numerous other subjects. The cards reflect the social, economic, political, and cultural climate of the periods during which they were produced.

AOB

7

Collection of nineteenth-century American trade literature

Trade literature and catalogs representing the products and services of a variety of businesses, including processed foods, medicines, scientific equipment, railroads, soap, and other consumer items.

AOB

11

Charles H. Vilas and Margaret Van Pelt Vilas Christmas cards

The collection consists of forty-seven nautically-themed Christmas cards created by Charles and Margaret Vilas from 1934 until 1994. The cards were produced through various processes including lithography, letterpress, and silk screen. Accompanying the cards is a Nautical Quarterly article about Mr. and Mrs. Vilas; the dust jacket from Saga of Direction: a Cruising Cutter's First 50 Years, by Charles Vilas; and materials prepared in memory of Margaret Vilas in 1995.

AOB

17

Harold Hugo collection of bibliophile club ephemera

The Collection includes announcements, invitations and other ephemera received by Harold Hugo relating to meetings, programs, exhibits and other activities of the Club of Odd Volumes of Boston, Massachusetts, the Double Crown Club of London, England, the Imprint Society of Barre, Massachusetts, and others.

AOB

35

Marion S. Adelberg matchcovers collection

The 215 matchcovers were collected by Marion S. Adelberg during her travels. She started the collection in 1962, when she lived in Japan, and continued over a period of approximately 30 years. In addition to the categories of advertisements and illustrated matchcovers, a third category includes covers depicting Asian themes and Asian language characters.

AOB

37

Fred J. Brauer European Poster Collection

The collection consists of posters from France and Switzerland. Most of the posters advertise art exhibitions; some are travel related.

AOB

46

Fred J. Brauer Collection of Wine and Liquor Labels

The collection consists of wine and liquor labels from around the world. Countries represented are: Algeria, Austria, Barbados, Canada, Chile, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Russia, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, United States, Yugoslavia.

AOB

53

Book Arts Ephemera Collection

This collection consists of exhibition announcements, flyers, prospectuses, and other ephemera that documents book artists and fine presses in the 20th and 21st centuries.

AOB

54

Collection of exposition ephemera

The collection consists of brochures and other printed ephemera from the 1876 Centennial Exposition, 1893 World's Columbian Exposition, 1901 Pan-American Exposition, 1904 Louisiana Purchase Exposition, 1939 New York World's Fair, 1962 Seattle World's Fair, 1964 New York World's Fair.

AOB

60

Polly Rubin Collection of Volvelles

Collection of 20th century volvelles and slide rules, primarily American.

AOB

84

Collection of Stereocards

Collection consists of stereoscope specimens and stereocards.

AOB

86

Collection of Crate Labels

AOB

88

Collection of Printed Ephemera

Collection consists of printed ephemera such as trade cards, souvenir books, postcards, and calling cards. Much of the ephemera contains color illustrations depicting numerous subjects.

AOB

113

Collection of Miscellaneous Volvelles

Associate Director, Arts Library

Profile Photo
Mar Gonzalez Palacios
Contact:
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
190 York Street | P.O. Box 208318
New Haven, CT 06520-8318
(203) 432-4439