Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Arts Library Special Collections: Winterhouse Collection

Resources available in the Special Collections of the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library.

Available collections

ART

1

Volvelle Collection

Jessica Helfand, a graduate of the Yale School of Art Graphic Design Program (MFA ‘89) and a respected critic of visual culture, collected hundreds of examples of the volvelle format. 

ART

14

Winterhouse Art and Design Collection of Volume 1 Number 1, 1919-2011

Consists of first issues of journals ranging from small press and literary to popular culture.

ART

17

Ezra Winter Collection

Contains published as well as archival materials relating to the life and works of Ezra Winter (1886-1949).

ART

19

Winterhouse Art and Design Collection of Pentagram Ephemera

Consists of a variety of pamphlets, booklets, and other ephemera designed by Pentagram.

ART

20

Winterhouse Art and Design Collection of John Maeda

Consists of 10 examples of Maeda's work collected by William Drenttel and Jessica Helfand. Also includes one postcard from Maeda to Helfand.

ART

21

Winterhouse Art and Design Collection of Stephen Farrell

Contains examples of works designed by Farrell, including two in collaboration with Tomasula (including an example of Mythopoeia typeface.)

ART

22

Winterhouse Art and Design Collection of Type Specimens

Comprises type specimens collected by William Drenttel and Jessica Helfand in the course of their work as principals of Winterhouse Design and later Winterhouse Institute.

Associate Director, Arts Library

Profile Photo
Mar Gonzalez Palacios
Contact:
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
190 York Street | P.O. Box 208318
New Haven, CT 06520-8318
(203) 432-4439