Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
At this time, Yale libraries are open to current faculty, staff, and students; IDs are required for entrance. Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Arts Library Special Collections: Woodcuts and Wood Engraving

Resources available in the Special Collections of the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library.

Archival Collections

AOB

16

Fritz Kredel collection          

The Fritz Kredel Collection is composed the personal and artistic archives of Fritz Kredel, including over one hundred original wood blocks, proofs and published work, sketch books and drawings, project files, and correspondence with other artists such as Victor Hammer and Rudolf Koch. Realia, toys and military figures made by Kredel, as well as a nearly complete collection of works illustrated by the artist are also included.

AOB

21

Bernard Brussel-Smith papers

The collection includes correspondence, proofs and prints, photographs, and printed material documenting the artistic career of Bernard Brussel-Smith.

AOB

22

Bernard Brussel-Smith wood blocks

The collection consists of over 1,000 wood blocks documenting the artistic career of Bernard Brussel-Smith.

AOB

23

Fritz Eichenberg designs and art work

The collection documents the artistic career of Fritz Eichenberg.

AOB

24

Fritz Eichenberg wood blocks

The collection consists of wood blocks documenting the artistic career of Fritz Eichenberg.

AOB

57

John Warner Barber Collection

 John Warner Barber was a wood engraver and illustrator who lived in New Haven, CT in the 19th century. The collection is primarily composed of woodblocks used to print the illustrations for the book "Connecticut Historical Collections" as well as broadsides printed by Barber.

AOB

61

Jacques Hnizdovsky Collection

This small collection contains primarily examples of the bold graphic style Hnizdovsky adopted toward the end of his career in the 1970s and 1980s. Some of the prints are hand colored; many are signed editions. 

AOB

71

W. J. Linton Collection

This collection is composed of 63 woodblocks of initials from "Bob-Thin," one woodblock of flowers, engraving tools, a painting on wood, and a small booklet of engravings of women's faces.

AOB

72

Wood Engravings of Alice In Wonderland Illustrations

This collection consists of 38 wood engravings executed by Bruno Rollitz for a 1932 edition of Alice in Wonderland published by the Limited Editions Club.

AOB

87

Fritz Kredel Woodblocks

 The collection consists of wood blocks documenting the artistic career of Fritz Kredel.

AOB

91

James H. Fraser Collection of John DePol

This collection is comprised of biographical information about DePol, correspondence with James H. Fraser, and examples of graphic art by DePol including many prints of wood engravings.

AOB

99

Monty L. Montee Collection of Claire Leighton

This collection is comprised of original prints by Leighton, correspondence and ephemera about her life, and ceramic plates with Leighton's images reproduced on them. Monty L. Montee gave the majority of the collection to the library, but his collection was comprised, in part, from the collection of Harvey Simmonds, a friend of Leighton's.

AOB

105

James H. Fraser Collection of Woodcuts for The Fable of a Proud Poppy

Collection contains 43 woodblocks used to print the 1934 Domino Press edition of The Fable of a Proud Poppy, or The Shipwreck of "The Cynthia" by John Domino. John Domino was a pseudonym for Esther Averill. The woodcut for the last image of a thistle and sparrow is the only one missing. The wood-engraved illustrations by Emile Lahner were hand colored in this edition. The verso of the titile page reads "Printed by Ducros and Colas of Paris for the Domino Press. 25 copies of a French edition and 25 copies of an English edition on Japan paper, hand-coloured and signed by Emile Lahner. Completed September 1934." The collection also contains a colored but not signed copy of the English version.

Associate Director, Arts Library

Profile Photo
Mar Gonzalez Palacios
Contact:
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
190 York Street | P.O. Box 208318
New Haven, CT 06520-8318
(203) 432-4439