Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
At this time, Yale libraries are open to current faculty, staff, and students; IDs are required for entrance. Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Arts Library Special Collections: FORMAT Art Work

Resources available in the Special Collections of the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library.

Archival Collections

AOB

4

Roger W. MacLaughlin sketchbooks

The collection consists of fifteen sketchbooks containing pencil and watercolor sketches by MacLaughlin of lamps, ornaments, sculptures, and other forms of interior decoration. The drawings are likely of items designed by MacLaughlin as well as decorative objects seen by him during travels to Europe and elsewhere. Most of the sketches are dated, and annotations indicate that some items pictured were "sold" by his firm.

AOB

64

Roland Bainton illustrations of Sterling Memorial Library patrons

This collection consists of 105 small watercolors of patrons engaged in a range of activities such as studying and relaxing the courtyard in the Sterling Memorial Library. These images were made in the early 1970s.

AOB

73

Collection of Drawing and Painting on Paper

This collection contains examples of drawing and painting, primarily on paper. Many of these pieces were intended for use or used as illustrations in published works. The majority of the collection is late 19th century. There are two paintings on unstretched canvas.

AOB

74

Collection of Early Graphic Art

This collection contains examples of graphic art primarily from before 1800. Many of these materials are not dated; an educated guess as to the age of the material was based on paper type and subject matter.

AOB

75

Collection of Book Illustrations

This collection is comprised of illustrations salvaged from damaged bound copies. Thus, many plates are lacking for each publication. The materials are arranged by language (of publication or publisher) and the publication is identified, if known. Otherwise a description of the subject matter identifies the materials.

AOB

76

Collection of Twentieth Century Graphic Art

This collection contains examples of graphic art from 1900-1999. Many of these materials are not dated; an educated guess as to the age of the material was based on paper type and subject matter.

AOB

77

Collection of Nineteenth Century Graphic Art

This collection contains examples of graphic art from 1800-1899. Many of these materials are not dated; an educated guess as to the age of the material was based on paper type and subject matter.

AOB

79

Walter H. Cook Collection of Scribner's Graphic Art

The collection consists of 61 black and white and 10 color lithographs of art work originally published in Scribner's Magazine.

Associate Director, Arts Library

Profile Photo
Mar Gonzalez Palacios
Contact:
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
190 York Street | P.O. Box 208318
New Haven, CT 06520-8318
(203) 432-4439