Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale libraries are open to current students, faculty, and staff. View COVID-19 library updates..

Arts Library Special Collections: Photo MFA Portfolios

Resources available in the Special Collections of the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library.

Today's Hours

 

When classes are in session, ALSC will be open Monday-Thursday 1pm-4:30pm and Friday 10am-12pm and 1pm-4:30pm to current Yale affiliates authorized to be on campus.

Seat reservations may be required during recess.

You must always request materials in advance. For more details, check our Accessing Arts Library Special Collections guide.

Quick Results

To see all photo portfolios sorted by date, go to:

https://bit.ly/photoportfolios

This searches Orbis and sorts the results by "Publication Date Descending"

Currently, the photo portfolios for 2010 and 2011 are not available via Orbis but you can find them here, via Archives at Yale.

Search Tips

Do you want to sort your results by year? Use the drop down menu on the upper right side of the results page.

  • Publication Date = Oldest first
  • Publications Date Descending = Newest first

Accessing Photography MFA Portfolios

To search for Yale photography thesis portfolios books, we recommend using Orbis, instead of Quicksearch.

From the Library home page navigate to Orbis by clicking Books and More.

Yale University Library home page showing link to "Books and More (Orbis)"

 

For all available Yale photo portfolios, use these key words: yale M.F.A. photography thesis (see also Temporary Acccess to 2010 and 2011 Photography Portfolios)

Search for "Yale photography M.F.A. thesis" in Orbis

 

For Yale photo portfolios for a specific year, add the year-- for instance: yale photography M.F.A. thesis 2019

Search for "Yale photography M.F.A. thesis 2019" in Orbis

 

For a thesis book by a specific photographer, add their name-- for instance: yale M.F.A. photography thesis Genesis Baez

Search for "Yale photography M.F.A. thesis Genesis Baez" in Orbis

 

Once you find a thesis you want to see, use the link to Request for use in the Arts Library Special Collections and fill out the form to finish your request.

Search results in Orbis: catalog record for Genesis Baez's photo portfolio

Temporary Acccess to 2010 and 2011 Photography Portfolios

We are working on making better records that are easier to find and interpret for all the photo portfolios. Currently, the photo portfolios for 2010 and 2011 are not available via Orbis but you can find them here, via Archives at Yale.

Note: Once we create records in the library catalog, accessible via Orbis, we will discontinue access via Archives at Yale. 2019 and more recent years are not in Archives at Yale.

Associate Director for Special Collections

Profile Photo
Mar Gonzalez Palacios
Contact:
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
190 York Street | P.O. Box 208318
New Haven, CT 06520-8318
(203) 432-4439