Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.

Latin American & Caribbean Microform Collections: Latin America

A list by country of Yale's most important primary source microfilm collections

General Collections

Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. Board of Foreign Missions. Archives of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. Board of Foreign Missions, 1833-1964.

Microfilm. Philadelphia: Graphic Microfilm Corp, 1955, 1960, 1973. 298 reels; 35 mm.

Divinity Special Collections: Film Ms11

Arranged by country:

Brazil, 1886-1911; Reels 153-160, 220, 242-244:

Chile, 1872-1910; Reels 189-218, 232-237, 244-261:

Colombia, 1872-1910; Reels 160-162, 226-227:

Guatemala, 1882- -1911; Reels 135-148:

Latin America, 1865-1893; Reels 162-173, 227-229, 285-287:

Mexico, 1872-1911; Reel 229:

Peru, 1885-1887.

The Presbyterian Church had an interest in missions from its formation. Their focus was proclaimed at the General Assembly of 1847, to aid in the conversion of the world. They began with ministry to the Indians in the United States, and extended to countries all over the world. The papers include manuscript letters, newspaper clippings, financial reports, reports of meetings and extracts from books or pamphlets. The mission work of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. Board of Foreign Missions is well-documented for the countries of India, China, Iran, Syria, Japan, Korea, Siam, Latin America, the Philippines and Africa. Also of interest are records of the Gaboon and Corisco Mission and the West Africa Mission. Originals owned by the Presbyterian Historical Society, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. All rights reserved. Archives of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. Board of Foreign Missions. Microfilm. Film Ms11. Special Collections, Yale Divinity School Library.

Archivo biografico de España, Portugal e Iberoamerica = Arquivo biografico de Espanha, Portugal e Ibero-America / direccion y redaccion: Victor Herrero Mediavilla, L. Rosa Aguayo Nayle.

Munchen ; New York : K.G. Saur, c1986. Microfiches I-XXXV; 1-1014.

SML Starr Reference Room  - Fiche B1267

Text of microfiche in Spanish or Portuguese; text of manual in Spanish, Portuguese, English and German. Title of manual in English: Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American biographical archive. Title of manual in German: Spanisches, Portugiesisches und Iberoamerikanisches biographicsches Archiv.

Archivo biografico de España, Portugal e Iberoamerica II. [editors, Victor Herrero Mediavilla, L. Rosa Aguayo Nayle].

Munchen : K.G. Saur Verlag, 1993. 976 microfiches.

SML Starr Reference Room - Fiche B3919

A compilation of 333 biographical works of which the more important were published between the 19th and early 20th centuries. Title on container: Archivo biografico de Espana, Portugal e Iberoamerica. Nueva serie (ABEPI II). Text of microfiche in Spanish or Portugese. Accompanied by a printed guide in 7 vols., Indice biografico de Espana, Portugal e Iberoamerica = Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American biographical index / edited and compiled by Victor Herrero Mediavilla (CT1345.I53 1995).

Archivo biografico de España, Portugal e Iberoamerica 1960-1995. [editor, Victor Herrero Mediavilla].

Munchen : K.G. Saur Verlag, [1996?]. 471 microfiches.

SML Starr Reference Room - Fiche B3946

Texts in Spanish, Catalan, English, German, and Portuguese.

British union catalogue of Latin Americana.

London : Institute of Latin American Studies ; Leiden, The Netherlands : IDC.

SML Microform - Fiche B2683

Accompanied by printed guides.

CIA research reports, Latin America, 1946-1976. Edited by Paul Kesaris ; guide compiled by Robert Lester.

Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, c1982. 22 p. ; 22 cm.

SML Microform - Film B4139

SML : Guide has the following call no.:  SML, Microtext Desk (In-Room Use, Non-Circulating) - F1414.2 C153 (LC)

Colonial Latin American manuscripts and transcripts in the Obadiah Rich collection.

Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, c1985. 33 reels

SML Microform - Film B19430

The Rich Collection, held in the New York Public Library, contains 102 sets of 149 bound volumes from 1492-1843  pertaining to the discovery and conquest of Latin America.

Conquistadors : the struggle for colonial power in Latin America, 1492-1825.

Woodbridge, Conn. : Primary Source Microfilm, 2003, 105 reels

SML Microform - Film B20676

Guide has the following call no.:  SML, Microtext Desk (In-Room Use, Non-Circulating) - E123 C747 20003 Oversize; Online guide also available.

This collection from the British Library features expedition records, original letters and maps of exploration and colonization,   and "diaries of discoveries" from South America, from narratives of Columbus' first voyage (at Sloane Ms 1709) to the end of Colonial Spanish rule. The set covers European exploitation, evangelization, and botanical and geographical exploration in South America from Texas to Tierra del Fuego, and features maps, scrolls, descriptions of voyages by sea and river, terrain, flora and fauna, settlement posts, plantations and mines, missionary activities, and "diaries of discoveries."

Iglesia en America Latina

[Montreal, Que.] : IDAL ; [Toronto : Publicado en microfichas por Bell & Howell], 1977. 58 microfiches : ill. ; 11 x 15 cm. + Guide (81 p. ; 16 cm.)

Divinity - Fiche B3323

Serie I ; dossiers 1/9.

This set is composed of 747 documents, 58 microfiches, and 5, 678 pages.

1. Iglesia en America Latina (en general)

2. Iglesia en Argentina

3. Iglesia en Brasil

4. Iglesia en Chile

5. Iglesia en Perú

6. Iglesia en Uruguay

7. Iglesia en Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay y Venezuela

8. Iglesia en Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, México, Nicaragua y Panama

9. Iglesia en Cuba, Haiti, Puerto Rico y Republica Dominicana.

ISLA: Information Services on Latin America.

Oakland, Calif.: ISLA, [1970]- v.: ill.; 28 cm. [Vol. 1, no. 1] (July 1970)- .

SML Microform - Film S1706

Clippings of Latin American political social and economic news from various English language newspapers. Microfilm for Jan. 1983- lacks place and name of publisher or distributor. See this title as well.

Gerald R. Ford and foreign affairs. Part 1, National Security Adviser's files. Section 5, Presidential and Staff Country Files for Latin America, 1974-1977.

Woodbridge, CT.; Primary Source Media, 2012-2014.

SML Microfilm - Film B21435

Latin America: national security files, 1961-1963. (inclusive).

Frederick, Maryland, University Publications of America. 1987. 10 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 1157

The records consist of cables, memoranda, minutes of meetings, and intelligence reports documenting foreign relations between the United States and Latin America during the administration of John F. Kennedy. A reel list is available at the beginning of reel one. The originals are in the John F. Kennedy Library, Boston, Massachusetts. Latin America: National Security Files, 1961-1963. Microfilm. Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.

The Lyndon B. Johnson national security files. Latin America. 1963-1969.

Frederick, Maryland, University Publications of America, Inc. 1987. 13 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 1141

The records consist primarily of cables and memoranda documenting foreign relations between the United States and Latin America during the administration of Lyndon B. Johnson. Reel list is available on reel one. Originals are in the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library, Austin, Texas. Latin America: National Security Files, 1963-1969. Microfilm. Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.

The Lyndon B. Johnson national security files. 1963-1969, Latin America First Supplement. coordinator, Robert E. Lester.

Frederick, Maryland, University Publications of America, Inc. 1999. 13 microfilm reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - Film B18064

Accompanied by a printed guide.

Latin America, 1941-1961: a guide to O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports, XIV. Edited by Paul Kesaris.

Washington : University Publications of America, [1980?] 56 p. ; 22 cm.

SML Microform - Film B4154

SML : Guide has following call no.: SML, Microtext Desk (In-Room Use, Non-Circulating)   F1408 L365 (LC). Contains reel guide and subject index.

Latin American pamphlet collection, 1568-1949.

Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1985.

Manuscripts and Archives - MS 1350 - Patrons must request FICHE 89

A collection of pamphlets from Mexico, Peru, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Martinique, Panama, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, El Salvador, Uruguay, Venezuela, the West Indies, and other Latin American and South American countries. The pamphlets document the agricultural, economic, legal, military, political, religious, and social activities in these countries. Consult the Guide to Latin American Pamphlets from the Yale University Library (Z1431 +V34 1985 LC) for access.

Arranged in three series: I. Mexican Pamphlets. II. Peruvian Pamphlets. III. Miscellaneous Pamphlets. Patrons must use FICHE 89 instead of the originals.

Newspaper comments on the A.B.C. mediation conference held at Niagara Falls, 1914.

Buenos Aires, Argentina, Microcop. 2 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 124

A scrapbook of newspaper clippings on the A.B.C. (Argentina, Brazil, Chile) Mediation Conference held at Niagara Falls. The scrapbook covers the period from April 26 through August l, 1914. Naon, Romulo Sebastian, 1875-, collector. South America. Argentina. Chile. Brazil. A.B.C. (Argentina, Brazil, Chile) Mediation Conference.

United States. Dept. of State. Notes to foreign legations in the United States from the Department of State, 1834-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 26 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 M-99

26 reels (reels 1, 8-9, 12-17, 47-48, 58-60, 66-67, 69-74, 78-79, 88-89, 98-99 of 99 reel set) Arranged alphabetically by name of country. Arranged chronologically within each country. Argentina. Bolivia. Brazil. Chile. Colombia. Cuba. Dominican Republic. Ecuador. Haiti. Mexico. Peru. Spain. Uruguay. Paraguay. Venezuela.

Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to political relations of the United States with other American states (the Monroe Doctrine), 1910-1949.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 30 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM  In Process

 Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

 

 

Latin American anarchist and labour periodicals, 1880-1940

Also available online.