Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.

Latin American & Caribbean Microform Collections: El Salvador

A list by country of Yale's most important primary source microfilm collections

Salvadorean Collections

United States. Dept. of State. Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records, El Salvador, 1930-1945 (inclusive).

Frederick, Maryland, University Publications of America, Inc. 1984. 28 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 1023

The records consist of U.S. diplomatic materials relating to political and economic affairs in El Salvador. The records document the economic problems that led to a successful coup by General Hernandez Martinez in 1931. There is substantial reporting on Salvadoran internal affairs under the Martinez regime-suppression of opposition groups, suspension of many civil liberties, and the limited success of labor and agarian reform movements-as well as during the period of chronic political unrest that commenced with Martinez's resignation under pressure in 1944. The documents are from Record Group 84, Department of State Diplomatic Post Files: Legation, San Salvador, in the National Archives. Published finding aid available in repository. Originals are in the National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

Also available digitally through ProQuest History Vault.

United States. Dept. of State. Confidential U.S. State Department central files: El Salvador: internal affairs and foreign affairs, 1955-1959 (inclusive).

Frederick, Maryland, University Publications of America. 1987. 7 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 1276

The records consist of telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence. The documents illustrate El Salvador's political system, government, judiciary, laws, military, customs, economy, finance, agriculture, natural resources, industry, communications, media, and relations with the United States and other nations. Published finding aid is available in the repository. The originals are in the National Archives, Washington, D.C.

United States. Dept. of State. Confidential U.S. State Department central files: El Salvador: internal and foreign affairs, 1945-1949.

Frederick, Maryland, University Publications of America. 1986. 7 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 1078

The records document the regimes of Salvador Castanada (1945-1948) and Oscar Osorio (1950-1956). The files relate to political, economic, and social conditions in El Salvador and foreign relations with Central American neighbors and the United States. Published finding aid available in repository. Originals are in the National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.

 

United States. Dept. of State. Confidential U.S. State Department central files: El Salvador: internal and foreign affairs, 1950-1954 (inclusive).

Frederick, Maryland, University Publications of America. 1986. 13 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 1079

The records document the regimes of Salvador Castanada (1945-1948) and Oscar Osorio (1950-1956). The files relate to political, economic, and social conditions in El Salvador and foreign relations with Central American neighbors and the United States. Published finding aid available in repository. Originals are in the National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in La Union, El Salvador, 1854-1887.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. d1960. 1 reel, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-395

Arranged in chronological order. The records include reports to the Department of State from diplomatic representatives of the United States stationed abroad and may consist of notes, correspondence, clippings and other materials exchanged with foreign officials. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in San Salvador, El Salvador, 1868-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 10 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-237

Arranged in chronological order. The records include reports to the Department of State from diplomatic representatives of the United States stationed abroad and may consist of notes, correspondence, clippings and other materials exchanged with foreign officials. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Sonsonate, El Salvador, 1868-1887.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 1 reel, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-440

 Arranged in chronological order. The records include reports to the Department of State from diplomatic representatives of the United States stationed abroad and may consist of notes, correspondence, clippings and other materials exchanged with foreign officials. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

 

United States. Dept. of State. Notes from the legation of El Salvador in the United States to the Department of State, 1879-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 2 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-798

Arranged in chronological order. The records include communications and enclosures received from the legation in the United States. Originals at the National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of El Salvador, 1910-1929

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 1968. 22 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 M-658

Arranged by document number. The records include correspondence with diplomatic and consular officials, Department of State and other government officials, private firms, and individuals on such topics as political affairs, public order and safety, military affairs, economic matters, industrial matters, and other concerns. Published finding aid in Microform Reference. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of El Salvador, 1960-1963

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 2003. 6 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM  B18983

Arranged by document number. The records include correspondence with diplomatic and consular officials, Department of State and other government officials, private firms, and individuals on such topics as political affairs, public order and safety, military affairs, economic matters, industrial matters, and other concerns. Published finding aid in Microform Reference. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

FBI File on the American Churchwomen Killed in El Salvador, December 2, 1980.

Wilmington, Del. Scholarly Resources, 1990. 2 reels, 35 mm.

SML Microform - FILM B16601:3

This file includes State Department, FBI, and El Salvadoran government memoranda, correspondence, specimen analyses, photographs of weapons, field reports, newspaper clippings, witness statements, and polygraph examination reports. In addition, there are requests for information by the victims' families to both the U.S. and El Salvadoran governments. ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE THROUGH WORLD SCHOLAR: LATIN AMERICA & THE CARIBBEAN