Anti-slavery collection: 18th-19th centuries, from the Library of the Society of Friends, 1760-1978.

 London, England, World Microfilms Publications. 1978. 25 reels, 35mm.

 SML Microform - FILM MISC 1138

Arranged in six parts: Anti-slavery Tracts, Volumes 1-37 (reels 1-13); Anti-slavery Tracts, Volume H (reel 14); Miscellaneous Tracts and Pamphlets (reels 15-20); Anti-slavery Journals (reels 21-22); Thompson-Clarkson Collection (reels 23-24); Chronological Bibliography of Anti-Slavery Tracts (reel 25). This collection consists of anti-slavery tracts, pamphlets and journals from the Library of the Society of Friends. Also included is the Thompson-Clarkson Collection of autograph letters, portraits, and printed material relating to Thomas Clarkson's "The history of the rise, progress and accomplishment of the abolition of the African slave-trade." Published guide available in repository. Originals are in the Library of the Religious Society of Friends, Friends House, London, England. Anti-Slavery Collection: 18th-19th centuries, from the Library of the Society of Friends. Microfilm. Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library. (Subjects:Afro-Americans. Blacks--West Indies. Slavery--History--18th century. Slavery--History--19th century. Abolitionists.)

The William Blathwayt papers at Colonial Williamsburg, 1631-1722.

Frederick, MD : UPA Academic Editions, c1989. 10 reels; 35mm.

SML Microform - Film B18058

Held by the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Accompanied by a printed reel guide. Includes bibliographical references.

Church Missionary Society. West Indies Mission. Records, 1819-1861. / Church Missionary Society, West Indies Mission.

[London?] : Micro Methods, c1967 (East Ardsley : [distributed by] E.P. Microform) 14 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. + 1 guide (11 p.)

Divinity - Special Collections - Film Ms41

Guide compiled by: Kent A. Anderson, for: Archives and Manuscripts Division, Yale Divinity Library. Microfilm of records held by the Archives of the Church Missionary Society.

Conference of British Missionary Societies. Conference of British Missionary Societies : archives, 1912-1970.

Leiden : IDC Microform Publishers, 1987. 4,990 fiche.

Divinity - Special Collections - Fiche Ms93

Arranged in five sections: Standing Committee, Home Council, Area Files, Literature and Medical, and Cooperative Work. The Conference of British Missionary Societies was founded in 1912 as a direct result of the 1910 World Missionary Conference at Edinburgh, Scotland. The World Conference had established a Continuation Committee whose goal was to stimulate the foundation of national cooperative councils for mission. The CBMS, however, was not itself a missionary society. It served an important function for cooperation between missionary organizations at home and abroad. The collection documents the activities of the CBMS for the period 1912-1954. Material pertaining to the Standing Committee includes annual reports, issues of the Edinburgh House Bulletin and triennial policy groups devoted to the study of particular aspects of missionary purpose and policy. The Home Council material documents the education for mission of British churches, recruiting and training of missionaries. Area files contain correspondence with national Christian councils in Africa, the Near and Middle East, the West Indies and Asia. The Literature and Medical Sections provide information on the provision of literature overseas and on the financing and staffing of missionary medical institutions. Material on cooperative work reflects the CBMS' international and national contacts with other missionary bodies. The collection is important for studying the cooperation between missionary organizations and the religious, social and political climate in Britain and many other nations. Published finding aid in repository. Originals located at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. Conference of British Missionary Societies Archives Microfiche. Record Group No. 93. Special Collections, Yale Divinity School Library.

Dickinson papers, 1676-1849 (inclusive), 1728-1837 (bulk).

East Ardsley, Wakefield, Yorkshire, England, EP Microform Limited. 1977. 4 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 786

The Dickinson Papers contain financial records, correspondence, legal records, account books, and other records of four generations of the Dickinson and Harman families relating primarily to their estates in Jamaica and secondarily to their English property. The Dickinsons were absentee landowners of Barton Isles, Pepper Penn, and Appleton Estate sugar plantations near St. Elizabeth's, Jamaica. The papers are part of the series British Records Relating to America in Microfilm.

Finch family papers, 1627-1744.

Microfilm made for W. Appleton Aiken.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 241

Papers of Heneage Finch, 1st Earl of Nottingham; Daniel Finch, 2nd Earl of Nottingham and sixth Earl of Winchilsea; Daniel Finch, 3rd Earl of Nottingham and 7th Earl of Winchilsea; and William Fermor, second son of Thomas Fermor, Earl of Pomfret. The papers consist of correspondence, speeches made in Parliament, drafts of legislation, petitions, account books, and legal papers of three generations of Finches. Also included are three short diaries kept by William Fermor, which relate to his travels in Europe and the West Indies, 1736-1744.

Great Britain. Colonial Office. Colonial Office records: America and West Indies, 1690-1776.

London, England, Public Record Office. 6 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM GB CO5

The records consist of fifty-five volumes (volumes 765-769, 855-906 of 1,450 volumes) of correspondence and entry books relating to British colonies in North America, particularly New England. The records constitute part of Public Record Office group Colonial Office class 5 (PRO CO 5). The originals are in the Public Record Office, London, England.

Great Britain. Colonial Office. Colonial Office records: confidential print, West Indies, 1787-1916.

London, England, Public Record Office. 10 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM GB CO884

The records consist of twelve volumes of the confidential print relating to the West Indies, British Honduras and British Guiana. The confidential print is a collection of selected correspondence, memoranda and other documents printed for internal use in the Colonial Office or, in some cases, for circulation to the Cabinet. The records constitute Public Record Office group Colonial Office class 884 (PRO CO 884). Published finding aid available in Microform Reference. Originals are in the Public Record Office, London, England.

Great Britain. Colonial Office. Colonial Office records: emigration, 1830-1834.

London, England, Public Record Office. 1972. 6 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM GB CO384

The records consist of six volumes of correspondence (27, 28, 30, 32, 33, 36 of 193 volumes) relating to settlement in North America, Australia, the West Indies, etc. The records constitute part of Public Record Office group Colonial Office class 384 (PRO CO 384). Originals are at the Public Record Office, London, England.

Great Britain. Colonial Office. Colonial Office records: general series, 1574-1690.

Washington, D.C., Library of Congress. 30 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM GB CO1

The records consist of sixty-eight volumes of correspondence and papers relating to the colonies in America and the West Indies. The records constitute Public Record Office group Colonial Office class 1 (PRO CO 1). Originals are at the Public Record Office, London, England.

Journals of the Assembly of Jamaica, 1663-1826.

Jamaica : Alexander Aikman : New York Public Library, 7 reels, 35mm.

Also available electronically.

SML Microform - FILM S613

These journals offer a large, indexed reference source on Jamaica, a key British military and naval base during th era of Anglo-French rivalry.

Montlezun, Baron de. Voyage fait dans les annees 1816 et 1817, de New-Yorck a la Nouvelle-Orleans, et de l'Orenoque au Mississipi par les Petites et les Grandes-Antilles : contenant des details absolument nouveaux sur ces contr ees, des portraits de personnages influant dans les Etats-Unis, et des anecdotes sur les refugies qui y sont etablis.

New Haven, Conn. : Research Publications, 1975. 2 reels ; 35 mm. (Western Americana ; Reels 377-378, no. 3716)

SML Microform - Film B2553

Paris : Gide fils, 1818. 2 v. ; 20 cm. West Indies--Description and travel.

The Humphrey Morice papers from the Bank of England.

Marlboro, Wiltshire : Adam Matthew Publications, 1998. 4 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

SML Microform - Film B17873

Reel 1. Slave journal of Humphrey Morice M7/6-M7/14, 1721-1730 -- Reel 2. Journal of Humphrey Morice, 1708-1710. Trading accounts and personal papers, vol. 1-3 -- Reel 3. Trading accounts and personal papers, vol. 4-5. Personal and business papers, vol. 6 -- Reel 4. Personal and business papers, vol. 7-8. (M7/35) 1703. Documents relating to British trade with Africa, America and the West Indies. Letter book of Humphrey Morice.

Thomas Pelham-Holles, 1st Duke of Newcastle papers, 1701-1821.

London, England, British Museum. 6 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 845

The papers (Additional MSS 33028-33030 and 33046-33049) relate to America and the West Indies, 1701-1821, and include statistics, financial documents, and other papers concerning army and navy arrangements for ships and men in service in the West Indies and America, 1755-1756. Originals are in the British Museum, London, England. Published finding aid available in Microform Reference.

Senhouse papers, 1764-1790.

Wakefield, England, EP Microform Limited. 1977. 2 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 787

The papers consist of account books, legal records, correspondence, and memoirs of members of the Senhouse family, largely in connection with their plantations and trade in the West Indies. This is film 97406 of British Records Relating to America in Microform. Originals in the Cumbria County Council Archives Department, Carlisle, England. Senhouse Papers. Microfilm. Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.

Slavery tracts & pamphlets from the West India Committee Collection now at the Institute of Commonwealth Studies.

London, England : World Microfilms Publications, 1982. 28 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

SML Microform - Film B15513

Includes "List of titles and index to reels."

Archival records from the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel : West Indies, E series reports, 1901-1950.

East Ardsley : Microform Academic Publishers, 1986. 13 reels ; 35 mm.

Divinity - Special Collections - Film Ms.96

Arranged chronologically: Reel 1, 1901-1903; Reel 2, 1904-1907; Reel 3, 1908-1910; Reel 4, 1911-1912; Reel 5, 1913-1915; Reel 6, 1916-1917; Reel 7, 1918-1920; Reel 8, 1921-1922; Reel 9, 1923-1924; Reel 10, 1925-1927; Reel 11, 1928-1931; Reel 12, 1932-1935; Reel 13, 1935-1950 (irregular). Permission must be obtained from the Archivist of the SPG in order to quote from, reproduce or publish material in these films. The reports deal with the activities of the Society during a time when missionary work in the West Indies was given little prominence. The Society required a report from all Microfilmed from records held at the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in London. Archival records from the U.S.P.G. : West Indies, E series reports. Microfilm. Film Ms.96. Special Collections, Yale Divinity School Library. West Indies E series reports. Archival records from the U.S.P.G. : West Indies, E series reports. West Indies records of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel : E series. the missionaries. They wrote in detail about their work, church attendance, Sunday School teaching, and the West Indian clergy such as Archbishop Edward Hutson and Archdeacon H. R. Davies, who wrote an amusing, informative and illustrated diary about life on the islands. The reports are a vital record of life in the West Indies at a critical and formative point of their history during the move from freedom and crown colony status to full independence. Published finding aid in repository.

* U.S. consul despatches, listed below, are arranged in chronological order. The records include reports to the Department of State from diplomatic representatives of the United States stationed abroad and may consist of notes, correspondence, clippings and other materials exchanged with foreign officials. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Antigua, Leeward Islands, British West Indies, 1794-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 9 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-327

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Barbados, British West Indies, 1823-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 17 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM  RG 59 T-198

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in British Guiana, 1801-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 5 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-333

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Demerara, 1827-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 23 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-336

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Guadeloupe, French West Indies, 1802-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 8 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-208

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Kingston, Jamaica, British West Indies, 1796-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 40 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-31

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Nassau, British West Indies, 1821-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 24 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-475

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in St. Bartholomew, French West Indies, 1799-1899.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 3 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 M-72

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in St. George, British West Indies, 1878-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 1 reel, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-173

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Trinidad, West Indies Federation, 1824-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 11 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-148

United States. War Dept. Military Intelligence Division. Correspondence and record cards of the Military Intelligence Division relating to general, political, economic, and military conditions in Cuba and the West Indies, 1918-1941.

Washington, D.C. : National Archives and Microform Publications, 1987. 11 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. + 1 guide.

LSF - Film RG 165 M-1507

Accompanied by printed reel guide, F1776.2 U65 1987 (LC). "On the 12 rolls of this microfilm publication are reproduced record cards and correspondence of the Military Intelligence Division (MID) that relate to conditions in Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic (also known as Santo Domingo), -- from 1918 to 1941. The documents reproduced are largely reports from the U. S. military attache assigned to Cuba and his assistants, although there is a significant number of records from the Department of State in Washington, the diplomatic staff of the American legation at Havana, and the U. S. Marine Corps units stationed on the islands. The correspondence from which the eight files were extracted are part of Records of the War Department General and Special Staffs, Record Group (RG) 165"--Introd.

  a

Belisario, Isaac Mendes, 1795-1859.   Sketches of Character, In Illustration of the Habits, Occupation, and Costume of the Negro Population, in the Island of Jamaica, Drawn after nature, and in Lithography, by I. M. Belisario, Kingston, Jamaica, 1837.  Yale Center for British Art.