Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.

Latin American & Caribbean Microform Collections: Brazil

A list by country of Yale's most important primary source microfilm collections

Brazilian Collections

Adolf Augustus Berle papers, 1937-1971 (inclusive)

SML Microform - FILM MISC 842

A diary record, 1937-1971, of Adolf Berle. Interspersed among the diary entries, are letters, memoranda of conversations, observations, speech drafts, opinions, and clippings related to American foreign policy, economic policy in the 1930s, World War II, and Latin American affairs. Also included is material on personal and family affairs, New York and national politics, the Communist threat to the United States, and his work as head of President Kennedy's Latin American task force. More than half the diary covers the years when Berle was Assistent Secretary of State, 1938-1944, and Ambassador to Brazil, 1945-1946.

Brazil's Popular Groups

A collection of materials issued by socio-political, religious, labor, and minority grass-roots organizations in Brazil. From 1966-1986 with ongoing supplements. Following website has guides and further documentation:  http://www.locrio.org/bpg/bpg-reelguides.html

Newspaper comments on the A.B.C. mediation conference held at Niagara Falls, 1914.

Buenos Aires, Argentina, Microcop, 2 reels 

SML Microform - FILM MISC 124

                  A scrapbook of newspaper clippings on the A.B.C. (Argentina, Brazil, Chile) Mediation Conference                   held in Niagara Falls.  The scrapbook covers the period from April 26 through August 1, 1914.

 

 

* U.S. consul despatches, listed below, are arranged in chronological order. The records include reports to the Department of State from diplomatic representatives of the United States stationed abroad and may consist of notes, correspondence, clippings and other materials exchanged with foreign officials. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.


United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Bahia, Brazil, 1850-1906.  

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 8 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-331


United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Maranham, Brazil, 1817-1876.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 3 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-398


United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Para, Brazil, 1831-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 9 reels, 35mm.

SML Microfilm - FILM RG 59 T-478

 

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Pernambucco, Brazil, 1817-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 17 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-344


United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil, 1829-1897.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 7 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-145


United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 1811-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 33 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-172


United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Santa Catarina, Brazil, 1831-1874.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 2 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-483


United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Santos, Brazil, 1831-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 6 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-351

 

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States ministers to Brazil, 1809-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 74 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 M-121

Arranged in chronological order. The records consist of volumes containing despatches addressed to the Department of State. Despatches and enclosures, unnumbered communications, telegrams, cables, and memoranda may also be included in these records. Published finding aid in Microform Reference. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.


United States. Dept. of State. Notes from the Brazilian legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1824-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 1965. 8 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 M-49

 Arranged in chronological order. The records include communications from foreign offices, head of state, foreign consuls, and private citizens; files also contain copies of proclamations, 7 newspapers, and miscellaneous materials. Published guide in Microform Reference. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between Brazil and other states, 1910-1929.

 Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 2 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 M-526

The records include correspondence with diplomatic and consular officials, Department of State and other government officials, private firms, and individuals on such topics as political affairs, public order and safety, military affairs, economic matters, industrial matters, and other concerns. Published finding aid in Microform Reference. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.


United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between the United States and Brazil, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 1 reel, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 M-525

 The records include correspondence with diplomatic and consular officials, Department of State and other government officials, private firms, and individuals on such topics as political affairs, public order and safety, military affairs, economic matters, industrial matters, and other concerns. Published finding aid in Microform Reference. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.


United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Brazil, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 54 reels, 35mm.

SML Microfilm - FILM RG 59 M-519

 Arranged in topical sections by decimal classification system. The records include correspondence with diplomatic and consular officials, Department of State and other government officials, private firms, and individuals on such topics as political affairs, public order and safety, military affairs, economic matters, industrial matters, and other concerns. Published finding aid available in Microform Reference. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Brazil, 1960-1963.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 21 reels, 35mm.

SML Microfilm - FILM B19545

 Arranged in topical sections by decimal classification system. The records include correspondence with diplomatic and consular officials, Department of State and other government officials, private firms, and individuals on such topics as political affairs, public order and safety, military affairs, economic matters, industrial matters, and other concerns. Published finding aid available in Microform Reference. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.