Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.

Latin American & Caribbean Microform Collections: Nicaragua

A list by country of Yale's most important primary source microfilm collections

Nicaraguan Collections

United States. Dept. of State. Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Central America: Nicaragua, 1930-1945. (inclusive).

Frederick, Md., University Publications of America. 1984. 38 reels, 35 mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 974

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post records pertaining to Nicaragua, concerning commerce and commercial relations, relations of state, internal affairs of state, and congresses and conferences, 1930-1945. Published finding aid available in repository. Originals at National Archives and Records Center, Washington, D.C. and Federal Records Center, Suitland, Md.

Also available digitally through ProQuest History Vault.

 

United States. Dept. of State. Confidential U.S. State Department central files: Nicaragua: internal and foreign affairs, 1945-1949.

Frederick, Maryland, University Publications of America. 1986. 12 reels, 35mm.

SML Microfilm - FILM MISC 1075

The records document the consolidation of political, economic, and military power by Anastasio Somoza; foreign relations with Central and Latin American neighbors and the United States; and the work of Nicaraguan exile groups to overthrow Somoza. Published finding aid available in the repository. Originals are at the National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C. Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Nicaragua Internal and Foreign Affairs, 1945-1949. 

 

United States. Dept. of State. Confidential U.S. State Department central files: Nicaragua: internal and foreign affairs, 1950-1954.

Frederick, Maryland, University Publications of America. 1986. 11 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 1076

The records document the consolidation of political, economic, and military power by Anastasio Somoza; foreign relations with Central and Latin American neighbors and the United States ; and the work of Nicaraguan exile groups to overthrow Somoza. Published finding aid available in repository. Originals are at the National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D. C. Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Nicaragua: Internal and Foreign Affairs, 1950-1954.

 

United States. Dept. of State. Confidential U.S. State Department central files: Nicaragua: internal affairs and foreign affairs, 1955-1959.

Frederick, Maryland, University Publications of America. 1987. 9 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM MISC 1279

The records consist of telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence. The documents illustrate Nicaragua's political system, government, judiciary, laws, military, customs, economy, finance, agriculture, natural resources, industry, communications, media, and relations with the United States and other nations. Published film guide is available in the repository. The originals are in the National Archives, Washington, D.C. Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Nicaragua: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1955-1959. 

 

* U.S. consul despatches, listed below, are arranged in chronological order. The records include reports to the Department of State from diplomatic representatives of the United States stationed abroad and may consist of notes, correspondence, clippings and other materials exchanged with foreign officials. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

 

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Cape Gracias a Dios, Nicaragua, 1903-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 1 reel, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-538

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Managua, Nicaragua, 1884-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 5 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-634

 

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in San Juan del Norte, Nicaragua, 1851-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 21 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-348

 

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua, 1847-1881.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 4 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-152

 

United States. Dept. of State. Notes from the Nicaraguan legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1862-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 4 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-797

The records include communications and enclosures received from the legation in the United States.

 

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Nicaragua, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 106 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 M-632

Arranged by document number. The records include correspondence with diplomatic and consular officials, Department of State and other government officials, private firms, and individuals on such topics as political affairs, public order and safety, military affairs, economic matters, industrial matters, and other concerns. Published finding aid available in Microform Reference. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

 

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between the United States and Nicaragua, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 2 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 M-633

Arranged by document number. The records include correspondence with diplomatic and consular officials, Department of State and other government officials, private firms, and individuals on such topics as political affairs, public order and safety, military affairs, economic matters, industrial matters, and other concerns. Published finding aid available in Microform Reference.Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

 

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Nicaragua, 1960-1963.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 4 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM  B19544