Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.

Latin American & Caribbean Microform Collections: Guatemala

A list by country of Yale's most important primary source microfilm collections

Guatemalan Collections

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States consuls in Guatemala City, Guatemala 1824-1906.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 15 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 T-337

Arranged in chronological order. The records include reports to the Department of State from diplomatic representatives of the United States stationed abroad and may consist of notes, correspondence, clippings and other materials exchanged with foreign officials. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Foreign Office records: general correspondence before 1906, Central America and Guatemala 1825-1854.

London, England, Public Record Office. 31 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM GB FO15

The records consist of eighty-three volumes (1-83 of 367 volumes) of dispatches, reports, and correspondence relating to Central America and Guatemala. The records constitute part of Public Record Office group Foreign Office class 15 (PRO FO 15). Originals are in the Public Record Office, London, England.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Guatemala, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 1968. 40 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM RG 59 M-655

Arranged by document number. The records include correspondence with diplomatic and consular officials, Department of State and other government officials, private firms, and individuals on such topics as political affairs, public order and safety, military affairs, economic matters, industrial matters, and other concerns. Published finding aid in Microform Reference. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Guatemala, 1950-1954.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 2002. 20 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM  B19522

Arranged by document number. The records include correspondence with diplomatic and consular officials, Department of State and other government officials, private firms, and individuals on such topics as political affairs, public order and safety, military affairs, economic matters, industrial matters, and other concerns. Published finding aid in Microform Reference. Originals at National Archives and Records Service, Washington, D.C.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Guatemala, 1955-1959.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 2001. 12 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM  B19523

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Guatemala, 1960-1963.

Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records Service. 2001. 7 reels, 35mm.

SML Microform - FILM  B19524

Latin American history and culture: an archival record. Series 5. Civil war, society and political transition in Guatemala: the Guatemala News and Information Bureau Archive, 1963-2000

Woodbridge, CT : Primary Source Microfilm, 2003. 112 microfilm reels.  See http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/3267000C.pdf for online guide. 

A more detailed online collection guide is also available 

SML, Microform - Film B20675

Guide : SML, Microtext Desk (In-Room Use, Non-Circulating) F1466.5 L37 2003 (LC) Oversize

Latin American history and culture: an archival record. Series 9. Collections from the Latin American Library, Tulane University. Part 2: Central American printed ephemera collection. 

Woodbridge, CT : Primary Source Microfilm, 2009. 17 microfilm reels.   

SML, Microform - Film B21432

Collection gathers primarily pamphlets on government (foreign relations, military, public administration, and elections), politics, religion, literature for the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries in Guatemala and to a lesser extent El Salvador and elsewhere. A highly useful and unique research tool for the period not matched by other microfilmed collections for this period. Also included are 509 Guatemalan broadsides relating to the presidencies of Manuel Estrada Cabrera [1898-1920.]; Jorge Ubico [1931-44]; and Juan José Arévalo Bermejo [1945-51].

 

Codex Florentino (illus. to Sahaguen's Historia)